First day of training with the new trainer

Yesterday afternoon was the first class with the new trainer, Linda Brennen, at Your Canine Coach

I got there early, and we talked again about what our goals are for Bambi and I got to meet her dogs, Karl and Missy. Karl is a Bernese Mountain dog and Missy is a Cavalier. Very large, and pretty small, together :). Beautiful dogs.

In class, we did not bring dogs (or no one was supposed to), and we learned clicker training from the dog’s point of view. I volunteered to be the dog, for M&M’s….I am not stupid, lol. She decided on some behavior she wanted me to do and then told me to “go to work”. I stood there for a second wondering what that meant, so she gave me a hint and said “just move around until you hear a click”. I walked around the room and when she clicked I came back and got an M&M. I felt like I was not getting it fast enough. As the game went on, I was getting more clicks and they were coming closer together. I finally figured out that she wanted me to drink from the drinking fountain. Whoo hoo!! I got it!!

Next exercise, be the trainer. We split off in pairs and I was working with Linda. I had her pick up a coffee cup from a stack by the coffee machine. She got it faster than I did. Even this part seemed difficult, I was clicking a little late, which was confusing for her, and breaking down her behaviors into a game of “hotter, colder” was confusing for me. But in doing this, I see how two species have trouble communicating, but it is not impossible.

She tells a story of how the clicker training, capturing, and shaping, began with dolphin training. They use a whistle, but the concept is the same. Brilliant….just brilliant!!

I will be going tomorrow to watch her “tricks” class, just to see. On Thursday, we have a single private lesson to evaluate where Bambi is at this point. I think this is going to work out well for Bambi and me. 🙂

2 responses to “First day of training with the new trainer

  1. Rolo Assistance Dog

    Good luck with the training! We use clicker training too 🙂

    Hopefully we can support each other through the coming weeks and months…

  2. dynamiteisonfire

    Interesting! i’ve been reading about trainers having pet parents go through the clicker training from the dog’s POV. It sounds delightfully eye opening. 🙂

Leave a comment